top of page

My Imagination As A Teen


I am a 13 year old boy. Many consider me to be a "teenager", someone is of age with "teen" in the number (13-19). Many people think that us teens have no imagination whatsoever. In the "social hierarchy," if you will, some are even criticized for having an imagination. If you are a teen, or even an adult remembering the "young days," you know that middle school and high school, when it comes to social, can be a living nightmare if you let it. It'll beat you down, eat you up, spit you out, and stomp on you before letting you cry... if you let it. I remember my first day in middle school, I was so sensitive that I cried when someone poked a little fun at me. I’m in 8th grade now, and I couldn’t care less what people say. But if I were to keep that “Screw what they say” mentality, I couldn’t give an inch, meaning you can’t give them any material to screw with you for. With that being said…


Even though I am 13, I have a wild imagination. When I have nothing to do, I love to just dream up different things and enjoy them. Something is so satisfying about pondering what the world would be if some of the things that people consider irrational were real, like, say, talking puppies. Many consider imagining these sorts of things immature, but I don’t know. I don’t see what’s wrong with creating your own little reality, as long as you keep it separate from your life. I’ve not really told anyone about this, except my parents and sister, because of reasons I’ve stated before. But be honest, you can’t honestly tell me that you’ve never pondered up a little world that you fancy dreaming about.


As a continuation, some people also like to write. Some like to write about history, make sources of knowledge and share them. Some like to write down their life in the form of a diary, or journal, and reflect upon it later in life. Some like to write fictional stories based on their imagination, their dreams, and I’m sure you see where this is going. I am one of those who enjoy writing about my imagination, what I dream up. Sometimes, I write about two german shepherd spies going on a secret mission to stop a kibble cartel. Sometimes, I write about a husky who knows the ancient art of Pup-Fu (play on Kung-Fu, if you haven’t noticed), and she teaches a chocolate labrador how to be stealthy. Sometimes, I write about a bunch of pups locked in a ship, where two of them are blood thirsty aliens, and the reader actually interacts as one of the characters. I’m not J.K. Rowling, given that the dialogue is in script form rather than normal paragraphs, but I think my stories are still enjoyable. With that being said, I think it would be nice to have someplace to share my stories, so my next post will be a short story. Thank you for reading.


bottom of page